I’m a realist, which is kind of odd for a creative type person. I spend my free time immersed in fantasy worlds, yet when I’m not writing I understand the harsh realities of life. So when an author on Facebook made a post about what piracy is in the creative world, I kind of ignored it and moved on. I already knew what piracy is. The post made me think about the cost of piracy and what it would do to someone like me.

I do not condone downloading books from torrent sites (not that there are many of those left) or from other piracy sites, the same with movies, music, television shows, or anything else you can download. If I can’t afford it I save up and buy it when I can. That’s how I live my life, but I know others don’t feel the same way.

Imagine my surprise when I searched my book and my name and found that it’s available for free. Why? Is $2.99 for a Kindle copy and $9.99 for a paperback really that much to ask for a book that I spent hundreds of hours and nearly $1,800 to bring to life? Obviously it is, because I’ve made less than $60 in three months, and people are able to download it for free from these sites. I’ve submitted requests to have it taken down and have been ignored, or told that I have to prove I’m the author. I guess paying for a copyright will be of some use after all, but why should I have to? Why do so many people think it’s okay to take away from an author’s livelihood, whether they be traditionally, indie, or self-published?

no-piratesI’ve made it my goal to fight piracy in all forms. If I know someone who does it then they can expect to be called out on the behavior. If I find a site with my book on it, I will send them a takedown request. Fighting piracy is my number two priority for 2017. My number one priority is to get Seas of Gold ready to publish for those who like Golden Opportunity. To me 2017 will always be known as the year of anti-piracy, which is so much better than the year of loss that 2016 was, in my opinion at least.

What is 2017 going to be for you? What change will you create in the world, even if it’s just a minor change? I’d really love to hear from you.

V. L. Cooke

Leave a Reply

