Pitch Wars: The Finale.

Hello Everyone,

I know this is going to come as a huge surprise to you all, but I didn’t get into #PitchWars. You can commence self-flagellation now (I’m kidding). I knew after the first weekend passed I wasn’t getting in. Not a single request came my way after submitting to six mentors (yes, I donated).

Do I regret it? Not at all. I met some amazing people and may find a critique partner eventually. Networking is always a good thing.

Did I think I actually stood a chance of getting a mentor with a fat, mouthy, 44 year-old heroine? Nope, but it didn’t hurt to have others take a look at my query and first chapter. In fact, it was painless.

Does it mean your writing sucks? Probably. I will definitely be taking a hard look at my manuscript and considering my options. I will self-publish after I take the time to evaluate it and polish yet again.

Will you do it next year? Meh, I’m kind of on the fence about that right now. On the one hand, if I have a book that I think is begging for an agent I will consider it. On the other hand, I don’t know if my style of writing is going to “speak” to anyone. Let’s be brutally honest, that’s what it’s all about. If your writing, story, and even your brand don’t speak to an agent then you’re going nowhere fast the same can be said of mentors.

Are you sure? No, but I don’t have to be sure about anything…ever. What I do know is that I loved the experience and don’t regret it in the least. It was disheartening to not get a single request for more, but I can handle that.

V. L. Cooke

P. S. I hedged my bets beforehand and bought a professional cover for Golden Opportunity (told you I’m a realist). I will be doing a cover reveal within the next couple of weeks. Stay tuned.

 

Leave a Reply

